Indecency With a Child is a sex crime that is often referred to as child molestation. As far as public opinion, moral turpitude, criminal laws & statutes in Texas are concerned, Indecency With a Child is a serious criminal offense.
Indecency with a Child can be prosecuted as indecency with a Child by Exposure or Physical Contact. Both standards for pursuing defendants accused of indecency with a Child apply to minors of any sex and are classified as felony offenses in Texas.
Persons charged with indecency with a Child by Contact will face a more severe penalty than defendants who are accused of indecency with a Child by Exposure. However, both cases are serious, should be contested, and will require a lifelong sex offender registration requirement should the accused party be adjudged as guilty in a court of law.
If you need to talk with an experienced criminal defense lawyer regarding a charge like this, call Attorney Christian Capitaine today at 832-618-7831.
Penalties for Indecency With a Child
INDECENCY WITH A CHILD BY EXPOSURE
Indecency with a Child by Exposure is defined as any exposure of any sexual organ to a child/minor by an adult, as well as any activity where an adult causes children/minors to expose themselves.
3RD DEGREE FELONY
If the defendant is found guilty of indecency with a Child by Exposure, the case will be classified as a 3rd Degree Felony offense which carries a maximum fine of 10,000.00. They’ll be subject to prison sentencing guidelines which range from 2 to 10 years, in addition to a potential life-long sex offender registration requirement.
INDECENCY WITH A CHILD BY CONTACT
Indecency with a Child by Contact is defined as any contact with any sexual organ of a child/minor by an adult, as well as any activity where an adult causes children/minors to come into contact with their sexual organs. The standard includes breasts.
2ND DEGREE FELONY
If you’re charged with indecency with a Child by Contact, the case will be classified as a 2nd Degree Felony offense which carries a maximum fine of 10,000.00. It also carries a jail term that can range from 2 to 20 years in prison in addition to a potential life-long sex offender registration requirement.
Charged With A Sex Crime?
Call The Capitaine Law Firm Today
Attorney Christian Capitaine is ready to listen to your side of the story and work on a defense strategy to fight the allegations. If you’ve been charged with a sex crime involving a child, the consequences, whether you’re convicted or not, are severe.
When a person is accused of indecency with a child, relationships & the respect of the community are at risk, which causes the potential for professional backlash, even before your first day in court.
If you think you’re under investigation for a sex crime the magnitude of child molestation, attorney Christian Capitaine recommends that you address the issue immediately. We can be reached at 832-618-7831.