During my experience as a DWI attorney in Houston, I’ve come to notice that most folks who are arrested for drunk driving have never been in trouble a day in their life and aren’t “criminals.” If that describes you or someone you love, and they were arrested for their first DWI charge, the next best course of action is to hire a defense attorney.
If you or a loved one were arrested for a DWI in Houston, the first thing you’ll want to get familiar with are the potential consequences should be adjudged as guilty and your options to fight the charge. If there is a way out, and/or a way to beat the charge, Attorney Christian Capitaine Can Help You.
Penalties for 1st DWI convictions include a potential jail sentence that can last anywhere from 72 hours to 180 days, fines of up to 2,000.00, and the revocation of your driving privileges for a period of 90 days to 1 year.
Avoiding Jail for a First Offense DWI
As far as having to serve a jail sentence for a 1st offense DWI if convicted, being sentenced to a jail term is rare on 1st offenses, and if the court appears to be leaning in this direction, we may able to keep you out of jail by opting to pay a fine, or by accepting probation.
However, prior to making any deals with the State of Texas, we’ll have to put the case through a rigorous examination to see if your rights were violated, and to see if the police have sufficient evidence to substantiate their allegations.
Attorney Christian Capitaine fights for his clients! If you need to consult with a defense attorney about your situation, call Christian Capitaine today!
LOSS OF DRIVERS LICENSE
One of the main and most immediate penalties for persons charged with DWI is the suspension of the Texas Driver License. When a person is accused of DWI, the state of Texas automatically moves to revoke the driving privileges of the accused party.
Once charged with DWI, we’ll have roughly 15 days to challenge the suspension of your Texas Driver License by requesting an ALR hearing before the deadline. Even if you have not been formally convicted of DWI, your Texas Driver License could be suspended prior to your first court date. Depending on how quickly you retain legal representation for your case, this situation may be avoidable.
The procedure to suspend your Texas Driver License, Automatic License Revocation, is automatic and must be countered immediately.
Keeping Your Record Clean
Depending on the circumstances of your case, we may be able to keep the record of the arrest off your background or have the record expunged if you were convicted. Ask me more about criminal record sealing. For more information, contact the Capitaine Law Firm.
If you need the help of an experienced Texas lawyer for criminal charges related to DWI, contact attorney Christian Capitaine immediately.