Facing Criminal Charges for Vehicular Assault?
Accused of Hit & Run in Houston, TX?
Call Attorney Christian Capitaine Today at 832-767-4992
Events in which a person hit a person with their vehicle and drove off are often referred to as “Hit and Run” cases, but are formally referred to as FSGI, Failure to Stop and Give Information, and FSRA, Failure to Stop and Render Aid.
Hit and Run cases are usually accidental cases in which the driver of the automobile wasn’t aware of an accident occurring in the first place, much less an act of criminal intent.
In other cases, hit and runs are intentional, resulting in serious aggravated assault charges being filed by prosecutors. In most instances, these are accidental events and aren’t as harshly prosecuted as malicious vehicular assault cases are.
Regardless of your situation, if you were arrested or think you might be charged with such an offense, you’ll need legal representation as soon as possible. Christian Capitaine can help you. If you’re ready to schedule a meeting or discuss your matter with an experienced defense lawyer, call 832-767-4992 to get started.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident
3RD DEGREE FELONY HIT & RUN
A person who does not stop after an auto accident in which death or injury resulted, will face prosecution for a 3rd-degree felony which carries a maximum fine of 10,000.00 and prison sentencing guidelines that range from 2 to 10 years.
CLASS C MISDEMEANOR HIT & RUN
If a person doesn’t stop after an automobile accident in which they caused under 200.00 in property damage may be charged with a Class C Misdemeanor. Class C Misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to 500.00.
CLASS B MISDEMEANOR HIT & RUN
If a person doesn’t stop after an automobile accident in which they caused over 200.00 in property damage, they may be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor. Class B Misdemeanor offenses are punishable by a fine of up to 2,000.00 with a potential jail sentence of up to 180 days.
If you need help, and you will if you were criminally charged in Houston for a crime like this, contact attorney Christian Capitaine for immediate assistance in your battle with the State of Texas.
Your Responsibilities During After an Accident
If you’re involved in any form of an auto accident in Texas, there are a few requirements to remain in adherence with the law. You must give your name, your address, the name of your insurance company, the VIN of your vehicle, your driver license number, and provide health care if a party is injured or they request medical attention.
This is the law.
Failure to comply with the law may result in criminal charges being filed against you by the Harris County District Attorney’s Office.
Charged with Hit & Run in Houston?
Call Attorney Christian Capitaine Today!
If you need help, make a quick phone call to 832-618-7831 or send our law firm a message using the contact form to make contact with attorney Christian Capitaine.
Hit & Run cases are serious matters and can be even more so if you have priors, extra circumstances, or if the incident was a result of DWI. The Capitaine Law Firm offers affordable rates, an aggressive legal defense, and over 20 years of criminal law experience to our clients.
If you need help, you can rely on our law firm. We’re here to help.